Ask Eno: Kosher

0 Flares Filament.io 0 Flares ×

Dear Eno,

How is Kosher wine different than other wine?

– Deena

   

 

  

Dear Deena,

Good question considering that Passover is fast approaching!

Kosher wines are made like other wines with some extra rules.  To be Kosher a wine must be:

* made under the supervision of a Rabbi with only winery equipment certified by a Rabbi

* made only with Kosher ingredients (yeasts, fining agents, etc)

* made without any artificial flavors, ingredients, or coloring

* handled entirely by Sabbath-observing Jews

Meshuval Wine:  Kosher wines which can be handled by others (non Sabbath-observing Jews).  They are also pasteurized (usually flash pasteurized to prevent too much flavor loss).  These wines eliminate the problems associated with guests or wait staff who are not Jewish or Sabbath-observing handling kosher wines.  

Kosher wines meant for celebrating Passover must also be free of corn syrup and legumes and kept away from grains, bread, and dough.  Corn Syrup is a sweetening agent used in many foods and drinks.  The famous sweet concord grape wine Manischewitz is usually sweetened with corn syrup so they also have a special version without corn syrup labeled “Kosher for Passover“.

Aubrie Talarico is part of Eno’s team that answers your toughest questions or curiosities about wine, beer, spirits, sake, and cider. Email questions to info@enofinewines.com and read the answers in Eno’s E-newsletter!

To sign up for Eno’s newsletter visit www.enofinewines.com and enter your email OR text “ENOFINEWINES” to 22828.  

aubrie-bio

0 Flares Twitter 0 Facebook 0 Pin It Share 0 Filament.io 0 Flares ×

All content is produced by InDowncity on behalf of the InDowncity members of Downcity Providence